The Key of Evidence

Last Wednesday, my dad came over to get the key to one of my cars to prepare for some repairs. He noticed it was severely worn to the point it would be impossible to get a replica. He advised me to go to the dealer and they could make me an original as long as I showed proof that I was the owner of the vehicle.

The next day I set out to get my key made. Though before I left the house, “the voice” (AKA the Holy Spirit) said “You should call before you waltz over there.” Considering I live fifteen to twenty minutes away from the dealer, this was a good idea. I called and asked them about the price of a duplicate and to double check if the items I was bringing over would suffice as proof of ownership. I was informed by the representative he was no longer able to get a keycode for the year of my car, which was a 1996. The computer would only go back as far as 1998. I asked him what were other options to get a key made and he responded, “Maybe a locksmith.”

I hung up and called my father. He told me he would check into a local locksmith’s prices, but it would probably be a hefty fee for them to cast a mold of the door lock. I inquired as to if he thought the manufacturer would be able to help and he told me probably not. (This is the part in the story where if you really know me, you know I didn’t take that as answer.)

I thought about it a moment and “the voice” again said, “What do you have to lose? You don’t have anything else to do at this moment. Call!” So, I picked up my cell phone, opened the web browser and searched for the company’s customer service toll-free number.

I was connected with a nice gentleman, who asked for all my information and what was my concern. I told him my issue. He relayed to me to go to the dealer for them to create me a spare key. I told him I had already called and they had no way of getting to the required information. He put me on hold.

While the elevator music was playing in my ear, I started to pray and speaking unto God. I told him I needed Him to make a way out of no way, just like He did for Moses and His people at the Red Sea. I spoke of His Will and quoted His Word. I asked Him to “show up and show out in a mighty way”. I told Him I believed He would because He knew I needed something greater done for my car than getting this key and for this to be an act of favor upon me. I told Him “nothing is impossible” with Him as my anchor, “I have not because I ask not” and if I ask in His name, it is destined. I said some other things and a few seconds before the representative came back, I ended my prayer.

He came back on the line and told me he would update the dealership’s database within 24 to 48 hours with the key information for my vehicle. I thanked him and disconnected.

I called the local dealership back and spoke back with the auto parts representative. I asked him if he ever heard of the manufacturer loading the information to the system. He said no but if he saw anything with my name on it, he would call me. Since it was a Thursday, I told him I would touch base again Monday morning. I passed the information to my dad and he told me he would hold off on the locksmith until he heard back from me.

I left my request at God’s throne and walked away, not thinking about it again.

Monday morning comes and I wake up with anticipation and confidence. I called the dealership. I spoke with the same representative and he told me nothing came through with my name on it. I proceeded calling the manufacturer back. I was connected with another attendant. She reviewed my file and told me she would call the dealership personally. She placed me on hold for security purposes. When she came back, the dealership was on the line and informed me I could come by bringing the required documents to purchase the key.

I arrived at the dealership less than an hour later, fighting off the salesmen in their golf cart trying to sell me another vehicle.

*this is where the story goes from great to excellent…wait for it*

I finally meet with the representative I had spoken with. He told me how appreciative he was for pursuing the matter because the lady gave him the manufacturer contact number to call to get any keycode he doesn’t have in his system already.He goes to photocopy my information, comes back and hands me the key!

“Here, you can have this for your trouble.” *my mouth drops*

I barely manage “Are you sure?”. He confirms his action by telling me again about how I have helped him in this duties. I’m still standing in disbelief when my daughter says, “I think you just made my momma’s day!”

I thank him again and walk away with the biggest smile ever (AKA Miss Celie smile), feeling like I needed to bust a praise dance move right there in the parking lot! I kept saying “Thank You, Lord!,” “Thank you, Jehovah Jireh!” and “Hallelujah!”

I share this story with you for three reasons:

  • God is real! Read this story again if you feel the need to ask me, “How do I know?”
  • When you ask God for something, have faith (believe it) and let it go (walk away)! (Remember that infomercial about that food processor [I think that’s what it was]…”Set it and forget it!”)
  • Expect God to grant, answer and bless you with more than what you initially asked for (i.e. the key for no charge). His thoughts are not ours; they are higher. So why shouldn’t I get better than what I ask for if the God I serve is omnipotent?

Tonight’s dare {if you find yourself, lingering in-between of any of these steps, begin at the stage you are at and follow through.}:

If you are in dire need of something, ask boldly for it, knowing God will provide for you because you are of Him. Speak His Words back to Him. Then, walk away, leaving your request at His feet. Do NOT pick it back up! (It’s hard at first…but I promise the more you practice this, the easier it is.) Finally, expect God to go over and beyond what you asked of Him (if you are obedient to His Word). 

xoxo,

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 21:53:50

    I love this. God really does provide. Believe me, this is something I needed to hear. We have had so much come up financially in the last 2 weeks with school starting, doctor appointments, son’s new glasses, and a car bill, we are needing to continue to pray for God’s provision, but I know that He has never left us in the dark before!!!

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 22:32:20

      Hi Wendy!

      Thank you so much! To God be the glory! I only share what He reveals to me.

      Yes, He does! *high five* I can definitely relate to your situation personally. At times, it is hard not to think about the things we need God to take care of. It is in these times, I just pray for comforting and to remind myself of exactly what you said because it is true. He has our best interest at heart. We are conquerors and we have to stand on that!

      Thanks for sharing and I hope to hear from you again soon! Take care!

      Reply

  2. Toni Campbell
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 23:43:50

    Desire- I loved this post…I’ve lived it time and again. Eph 3:20-21 is a favorite passage (see my blog post Beyond the Beyond for proof of the abundance he’s capable of ) I always say, God is in the details – he cares about what is going on in our lives down to the smallest thing…God is creative – he delights in showing up and providing in ways I would never have dreamed…and yes, God is most certainly real and able to do exceedingly, abundantly more than we can ask or imagine! BTW – the set it and forget it was a rotisserie not a food processor 🙂 God bless! Toni C

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 23:56:01

      Toni,

      Yes! Yes, Yes! I love your comment. You stated one of my favorite characteristics of God; he’s creative as well as inventive. Hahahahaha! Thank you! I didn’t think that sounded right but it was the only thing that came to mind….so I went with it! I couldn’t remember.

      Thank you for your comment and coming by! Come again soon!

      Reply

  3. deaven
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 00:17:39

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad you were able to sign up for Oprah’s Life Lessons class.

    -your newest follower
    http://www.ladieslike.net

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 19, 2011 @ 14:40:48

      Deaven,

      Not a problem…I love the concept and things you are doing there. Keep it up! Thanks for stopping by! Don’t be a stranger.

      Reply

  4. Brandi Palen Soderstrom
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 13:58:24

    Wow…that was awesome! I have tears in my eyes! I know exactly what I am going to ask God for, and trust Him with!
    Thank you for Sharing!
    God Bless!
    Brandi

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 19, 2011 @ 14:38:50

      Hi, Brandi!

      Your emotion warms my heart and ignites my passion for the task He has assigned to me through this blog. Yes, be courageous and outright bold in your request. I pray you receive whatever is in His Will for you. Thank you for stopping by!

      Have a great weekend!

      Reply

  5. Ross
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 19:43:10

    God will provide! We shouldn’t be afraid to ask God for those things that He has already granted us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

