Jehovah Jireh, my Supplier

Abraham named the place Yahweh-Yireh (which means “the Lord will provide”). To this day, people still use that name as a proverb: “On the mountain of the Lord it will be provided.” Genesis 22:14 (New Living Translation)

The verse above is one of my favorites because it is where we first see God called a name other than the norm. He is given this alternate name because of the act performed or blessing bestowed upon His child. Jevovah Jireh is a name I call on and thank daily because without this characteristic of Him, where would we be? I know for me, I can’t really answer. Though I am sure, the result wouldn’t be fantastic or even better than I am now. I am confident about this much because I know where He found me!

I am certain you have heard the story from where this verse comes. But to be on the safe side, I’ll recap for you.

God decided to test Abraham’s faith. The Lord told Abraham to sacrifice (basically, kill) Isaac, his son, as an offering unto Him. The next day, Abraham prepared for the journey to the mountain, taking Isaac and his servants along. When they reached the mountain (a suitable place to make an offering to the Lord), he told the servants to stay down below with the donkey and other belongings while they traveled upward to worship. As they got closer to the site, Isaac realized his father had everything but a sheep (or other animal). He asked where was the creature to be sacrificed. Abraham told him God would provide it. They kept walking further and arrived at the place God told Abraham to go. Isaac’s father created an alter and tied his son to it. Right when he picked the knife up to kill Isaac, an angel began to call his name and told him not to hurt his son. When Abraham looked away, he saw a ram trapped in some branches and sacrificed it instead of Isaac. Abraham designated this area of the mountains of Moriah, Yahweh-Yireh (equivalently Jehovah Jireh). This translates to “The Lord will provide” or, as we commonly refer to as, “The Lord, our provider”.

Personally, I can relate to this story today. There have been times in my life where I wasn’t sure how I would get to work the next day and then someone would hand me a few dollars without me saying a word. I, in turn, would use the money for gas. Other times I wasn’t sure how I was going to make ends meet without any days scheduled to work and then my phone would ring or start blinking with someone asking me to work for them (I actually just experienced that while writing this). Ever been hungry, someone ask you out and then paid when the check came? (Regardless of whether you had the money or not.) *raises hand* In my honest opinion, gratitude and appreciation is most certainly due. Those events didn’t happen to me because I did something all that wonderful or magnificent. I have found favor in his eyesight and YOU have too! (Otherwise you wouldn’t be able to read this now.)

There has been a song in my spirit for a week I would like to share with you. I feel as though it explains the concept I am trying to describe.

When I was a little girl (back in the era of the cassette tape), my mom would listen to the same audio tape in the car over and over until I had no other choice but to learn the words. I remember many songs today. Funny how God was placing and hiding His Word in my heart even back then! *waves hand in the air* This song is one of them. The story it tells is still relevant today after 22 years. The testimony is simply this: “Without a doubt, it could have been ME going without like so many in the world. But God with His withstanding grace and mercy didn’t allow it to happen! I just want to take a moment to say,”Thank You!”

Tonight’s dare: Take a few minutes to access the player/link below. Listen to the vocalist as she makes her plea and gratitude her praise. Then, recall a time when you were drowning and out of nowhere God threw you a life jacket.

If the player above doesn’t show up or play (on some mobile devices it will not), click here. This link will take you to Youtube.

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

