Simply Blessed

“Wherever you go and whatever you do, you will be blessed.” Deuteronomy 28:6 (New Living Translation)

I have come to the realization I have to be grateful for the simple things in life. I have often described myself (as I have done here) as just a simple gal. By this, I mean I enjoy the finer things life can offer at times (i.e. lobster & steak dinners, traveling somewhere new, my fave Coach bag). However, I cherish moments when I can read non-stop for a hour, singing to the top of my lungs with my daughter in the car, or simply opening my eyes every morning.

My bedroom is on the front side of my house. As we all know, the sun rises in the east. Guess which direction my house faces? *ding ding ding* Yes, in the east! Every morning (before my alarm most days) whether I like it, have to work or otherwise, Mr. Sun bedazzles my room with his rays of light.

This used to irritate me so much! All I wanted was five more minutes of sleep and here comes all this light waking me up! You are probably wondering why I didn’t get some darker curtains, blinds, or just cover the windows with a thicker material. Well, I went to look for some. The item I wanted was never in stock and the others looked like they wouldn’t work or were too expensive. To top it off, my windows aren’t the standard size. They are an in-between measurement. It was just a hassle!

One day, I finally read the signs God sent my way. I learned the Sun shining through my bedroom window is His way of touching me every morning. The simplicity makes me appreciate the act even more. Why? (Because) Someone didn’t feel the light beam from their window, smell breakfast cooking downstairs, or hear a door close in their house this morning to signal the start of their day.

It is definitely a blessing and should be counted along with the other magnificent ones He has performed. By no means, should it be taken for granted.

Many times I believe we (me, included) expect or look for God to bless us, yet work in this fictitious supernatural realm we have created in our minds and seen in movies. Including a fireworks display and sign posted saying, “To you, with love. From God.” I am being sarcastic, yet truthful. Please don’t think I am trying to downplay any of God’s works in my life because I am not.

If  we were to truly examine our situations, we would discover every act of God is “supernatural”. For example, the check He reminded me I had forgotten to pick up on payday. Was I broke? No. But I could have been. Ever been sorting clothes to wash and find some money in a pocket? That’s a blessing! A simple one, but no doubt, a blessing.

I find it absolutely mind-boggling the same God who can make it rain here, snow where you are and sunny in another reader’s area all at the same time, stops by our bedrooms personally every morning to greet us. Yet it happens without us consciously being aware of it.

Tonight’s dare: If you read this post, you have completed it because you know very well what I am talking about. You have experienced this event. I pray you will continue to see it happen in your life in other areas. If you didn’t already know, let me tell you….you have been “simply blessed.”

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

