Hometown Nazareth: Where Jesus was a Kid!

“And we know that all things work together for good to those that love God, to them who are the called, according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28 (King James Version)

I was working on another post for tonight in the wee hours of the Monday morning. To my dismay, it is still not ready yet. It has been very draining for me to recall the events, so I will just ask for your patience because I want to share it with you soon!

However, I wanted to post tonight, but we (my daughter and I) just got in from decorating the church for Vacation Bible School. The theme is “Hometown Nazareth: Where Jesus was a Kid!” The entire church has been transformed from a large,  contemporary place of worship to historical Nazareth. There is even a meadow with sheep! If I sound a little excited, it’s because I am! The churches I have been involved with before never got this “in-sync” with the VBS topic for the week. We are even dressing up in draped fabric to simulate the dress of that time.

My description here gives the legwork on scenery and interior design no justice. But don’t worry I have been assigned photographer for the three days, so count on some pictures posted here by the end of the week!

Like most families, every day is not a happy day or one without conflict. And by my next few statements, I don’t want anyone to get the impression my church family is perfect or without flaws. This is just an account of my observations today.

I saw people of all ages working together. They put up rock walls, moved chairs in the sanctuary, traced, cut and colored sheep; crumbled paper to construct grass, tallied registration forms, measured and fitted citizens of Nazareth and I could keep going. There seemed to be a willingness to help out in the midst. No one got upset because they couldn’t do what they wanted or because something wasn’t done their way. “What can I help with?” was heard many times throughout the evening or they, simply, just jumped in. I witnessed a minister call in deacons and other male members to assist with the remodeling. It was definitely a “no attitude” zone. Everyone’s mindset was basically,”I am doing this for the children of Gethsemane, so they can learn about the God we serve”. It was very welcoming and fun environment to say the least!

I say again, I know every day will not be like this evening. But I will cherish today because it is a connection I have never experienced with a church family before. It is an encounter I absolutely praise God for!

Before I knew it three hours had past and I needed to get back home; though I didn’t want to leave. Needless to say, I can’t wait to get there Wednesday evening!

Tonight’s dare: Think about your family. What qualities bring you all together or demonstrate the “bonds that bind us”? What traits need some work? Pray for those aspects to strengthen as well as your willingness and submissiveness for those changes to take effect. 

xoxo,

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenifer
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 09:43:02

    Thank you for linking up at Sweet Blessings! Nice to “meet” you!

    Family is so very important. I pray daily that God brings us together in new and fresh ways.

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 10:16:20

      Hey Jenifer!

      It’s nice to “meet” you as well! I found your blog through the LeadHer network. I love your layout; its beautiful! I hope to go back (when I get a free moment) and review some of your posts. There were a few that caught my eye.

      Yes, family is definitely important, whether it be blood, church or “generic”. A support system is crucial to an individual’s survival.

      Thanks so much for “stopping” by! Come back again anytime!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

