The Night Owl

John 10:27 states, “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.” (New Living Translation)

My most favorite part of the 24-hour cycle we call a “day” is night. Its in this time I can actually sit and reflect on my day, handle any administrative duties for many of the offices/titles I hold, complete any homework assignments as well as little tasks that ran across my mind during the day and the list goes on.

I would have to say the #1 reason why I love nights better is because I am more apt to hear God speaking to me without interruption. Let’s face it… God has a lot of competition during the daytime hours, despite our goals of focusing on Him. Should He have to struggle for attention? Absolutely not! Yet it happens at times. (I could go in another direction with this right here, but I will keep my focus.) Personally, I know I juggle my employment for eight hours, my daughter talking to me as well as helping her with whatever homework she has, bills, what’s for breakfast/lunch/dinner, “I need to put gas in the car”, meetings and conference calls, etc.

So for me, my nights are a relief to be able to take whatever bothers me (if anything) and praise report to God. Its a time where I not only bow down before Him and tell Him things, but I sit and listen to what He has to say and reveal to me. I have learned relationships travel on Communication Interstate. The northbound lanes receive verbal and nonverbal cues and the southbound lanes ship listening. If at any time the “goods” aren’t able to reach their destination, a breakdown in communication occurs.

Many times we feel God is “supposed” to listen, listen, listen while we talk, whine, beg, and talk some more. But when do we listen to Him? To be honest, there have been times before when I would pray “without results” (though there isn’t such a circumstance) and I would thought my prayer wasn’t being answered. Only to find out later, if I had listened or stayed in His presence a little longer, He had given me the solution and moved on to another issue! There’s a song, “Jesus Can Work It Out” by the Dr. Charles Hayes & the Cosmopolitan Choir, with lyrics that say, “What are you trying to figure out?, He’s already worked it out!”

The time we set aside and decide to take now to listen to Him, the easier it will be to hear Him in times of despair and trials. Especially when we are going through it because we didn’t listen in the first place! (Ask me how I know later.)

How would you feel if your best friend called or came home at the end of a long, hard day told you everything that happened to them from the time they opened their eyes that morning until the minute they picked up the phone and didn’t pause for you to inject or much less take a breath?! Then, if that wasn’t enough say, “Well, I gotta go now. I’ll call you back tomorrow.” Essentially, we do the same to God at times.

Mark 4:24 reads, “Then he added, ‘Pay close attention to what you hear. The closer you listen, the more understanding you will be given–and you will receive even more.’ ” (New Living Translation)

Tonight’s Dare: I invite you to spend some quality time talking to God. Start by thanking Him for the simple things…life, your degree of health, or whatever comes across your mind as you think about this statement: “Without Your help I couldn’t have…”. Then, when you get done…sit still and listen to what He has to say in return. You never know…it might be something wonderful He wants to share with you!

xoxo,

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 09:09:47

    my best time are mornings…and being outside…in the hills….love those times alone with Him

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 10:02:27

      I would tend to agree, but I am not a morning person by nature. Though I tend to enjoy crisp, fall mornings while at the bus stop with my daughter. I love the changing of the leaves. Thanks for coming by and sharing! Don’t be a stranger! *hugs*

      Reply

  2. Shakima Jones
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 13:21:51

    In creation, a new day actually began at night, so its poignant that we are silent at night, we rest at night and G-d is able to pour into us uninterrupted. He can speak to us via our dreams, He can reach into our subconscious and plant His will there. He can wake us up in the middle of the night and call us to pray or meditate.

    Reply

    • Desire
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 10:09:53

      @lovemovementllc, my twitter friend. Thank you so much for reposting these reply tweets for me here. I am sure it will be enlightenment for someone. I hope to start a link page soon and I definitely want LoveMovement a part of it…if its nothing but the tweets you publish! It’s good material!

      Reply

  3. Charlotte
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 18:08:48

    So true. We need to talk to God but we also need to listen. There are so many things competing for our mind and time. Thank you for sharing with us.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

    Reply

Leave a Reply

